Author Topic: inletting lock (oops)  (Read 5897 times)

Offline ohidan

inletting lock (oops)
« on: January 18, 2012, 05:28:54 PM »
 :'( This is my first attempt at gun building ,I guess my guestion is what to use to fill small cracks around lock plate after removing to much wood ?
ohidan

Offline Chris Treichel

Re: inletting lock (oops)
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2012, 05:32:23 PM »
You can make a mixture of epoxie and wood dust (of the same wood the stock is made of... make sure you put something between the lock and the epoxie so you don't acidentally glue it in... release agent or saran wrap work...

Offline Dennis Glazener

• Administrator
    • GillespieRifles
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2012, 05:35:40 PM »
Depends on how small the crack is. If very slight it might close up when the finish is applied. The wood tends to swell some when oil finish is used (at least for me).

If larger about the only thing you can do is to take some thin strip of wood from elsewhere on the same stock and use stainable wood glue to glue them into the cracks. Even with stainable wood glue it is best to stain the wood before doing this.

About the only other thing I can suggest is to glue a larger piece of wood into the mortise and inlet it again without gaps.

I seriously doubt that using anything but solid wood in the cracks will come close to matching the surrounding wood.
Dennis
« Last Edit: January 18, 2012, 05:37:51 PM by Dennis Glazener »
"I never considered a difference of opinion in politics, in religion, in philosophy, as cause for withdrawing from a friend" - Thomas Jefferson

Offline James Wilson Everett

« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2012, 05:48:47 PM »
Guys,