Author Topic: Southern/Mountain rifles experts, help please.  (Read 11126 times)

billd

Southern/Mountain rifles experts, help please.
« on: November 27, 2008, 12:32:25 AM »
I have one of Dennis's Gillespie rifles almost finished. This is my first project other than brass mounted PA rifles.   I'm planning my next project and ran into a roadblock.  :'(  I have a 44" B weight Rice barrel and a great piece of Ash.  The problem is the blank is a little shy of one inch too short, or the barrel is too long. The problem is the extended toe design. With a flatter butt plate it would fit.

Can anybody help me out with suggestions or pictures of a rifle that has a flatter butt plate that ash would be an appropriate wood. I'm looking for a plain mountain style gun.

Other options I thought of was not using a butt plate, which scares the stuff out of me, shortening the barrel, which I don't want to do or shortening the pull length. I ruled this last one out because I'm too tall to go a full inch shorter.

Another one I thought of is adding a piece to the end of the blank and hiding it under a nose cap. I don't know if this would even work.

I seems to me the best way to go is a different style rifle with a flat butt but that is where I need help. I have no ideas what direction to take or what to look for with an ash stock and still be at least partially PC correct.

Any help, suggestions or pictures will be greatly appreciated.

Happy Thanksgiving,
Thanks,
Bill

Offline G-Man

• Member 3
Re: Southern/Mountain rifles experts, help please.
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2008, 12:46:10 AM »
Bill - I am no expert but not sure if I understand - are you saying that you were planning another mountain rifle with the long extended toe, like the Gillespie buttplate, but just want to use a flatter buttplate style now due to the pull length?