Author Topic: Gun builders bench  (Read 7917 times)

Dan H.

Gun builders bench
« on: November 18, 2012, 09:50:28 PM »
Hello,  I'm new to building, and am just starting out. I have built an Armstrong .45 Cal from a pre-carved stock a few years back. I don't have much space to build. A bench in the laundry is about it. I bought Mark Silvers video on rifle building with traditional tools & Mike Millers on pistol building last year. I have a vice, about a dozen carving chisels & gouges. Any suggestions for an aspiring builder. Thank you.

Offline 490roundball

Re: Gun builders bench
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2012, 10:18:09 PM »
welcome Dan

a comment each on workspace and tools - what ever you have is not big enough, and no you don't have tools enough , ever  ;)

there is a recent thread on building a shop - you'll find suggestions for every thing from make do to purpose built dedicated shops.  if you pay attention to the posters you'll see its the craftman's skill not his space that makes quality.

are you looking for examples/plans for the benches some use?

there are some good books depending on what style you are planning to build, and you'll gettremedous advice here.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2012, 10:20:06 PM by 490roundball »
"It's a poor word that can't be spelt two ways" Tom Yeardley in Swanson's Silent Drum

Offline Dave B

« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2012, 11:46:15 PM »
Hi Dan,