Author Topic: Question on parts selection  (Read 6559 times)

yellowhousejake

Question on parts selection
« on: January 08, 2013, 04:39:28 AM »
Evening everyone,

I have a maybe funny request, if this is the wrong place please move it. I am an instructor for Project Appleseed and I present the history of April 19th 1775 to many groups. I am starting to give the history in period costume. I would like to add a musket to my kit. I've built several rifles and pistols/revolvers in my distant past, I shot only blackpowder for most of my life. Should be able to get back into the swing of things easily enough.

The problem is the musket to build. While we all love the curly maple and ornate decorations, I need a musket more in line with what a colonial militia member would have carried on April 19th. The go to musket that hung over the door. Not a fancy rifle. I think of it like this. If you knocked on my door late one night and told me a you hit a deer and it was kicking the *&^% out of your car, I would reach past my Winchester and my CZ and grab my 10-22 with no finish left and old stove paint on the barrel. I need that, in a musket.

My research has turned up several examples and they are almost always within to the following description.

Full round barrel
20ga to 75 caliber
No ornamentation, no inlay, no nosecap
Rarely a bayonet stud
Locks are often reused from French, Prussian, or English arms, military and civilian

This leaves me pretty wide open for part selection so I figure I should choose quality parts as this will be my entry back into muzzleloading. I'll shoot it, a lot.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I would like to to start rounding up parts by summer, and have a design picked out by then.

Thanks for your time. I look forward to hearing everyone's input on this project.

Dave

Offline Acer Saccharum

• Administrator
    • Thomas  A Curran
Re: Question on parts selection
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2013, 05:07:33 AM »