Author Topic: NMLRA Scoring  (Read 8730 times)

Candle Snuffer

NMLRA Scoring
« on: February 21, 2013, 12:14:30 AM »
Does anyone know when the NMLRA started using the scoring system they have today for scoring targets? 

NMLRA scoring system today [bullet hole breaking the scroing ring line gets the "higher" score value if the bullet hole is centered on that scoring ring line],,, as compared to the NRA scoring method of the bullet hole [touching the scoring ring line] gets that scoring ring value].

Offline heinz

Re: NMLRA Scoring
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2013, 02:02:47 AM »
They were using it in 1966 when I started shooting there.  I do not know when they started.
kind regards, heinz

Candle Snuffer

« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2013, 02:14:30 AM »
Thanks heinz, it gets me a bit closer to a date. :)

Offline Frizzen

• Phil Piburn
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2013, 04:39:56 AM »
They were using it in 1961.
The Pistol Shooter

Candle Snuffer

« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2013, 04:48:16 AM »
Thanks Frizzen. :)

Offline Bob Roller

« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2013, 07:18:38 AM »
I think it was in use in 1954.That was my first time to go there and went with E.M."Red"Farris
who was one of the founders. He did almost all the target scoring in the upper level of the club
house and I remember him showing me the way he did it. He used a caliper to determine if the
ball had centered the line of was not quite where it should be to count as a higher number.

Bob Roller

Candle Snuffer

« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2013, 07:37:57 AM »
Thank you Bob.   :)

I might mention that in the book, [Muzzle Blast - Earliest Years Plus Volumes I & II - 1939 - 1941]  on page 9 there is a letter from E.M. Farris (dated June 4, 1974), and on the preceeding page there is an August 1948 Muzzle Blast cover with an older man scoring targets who I believe may be E.M. Farris.  By the way, the price of Muzzle Blast back then in 1948 was .20 cent...