Author Topic: A couple of fowlers  (Read 7861 times)

Offline Lucky R A

• In Costume
A couple of fowlers
« on: April 20, 2013, 05:02:54 PM »
    Below are some photos of a couple of recently completed fowlers.   The Bucks Co. style fowler is based upon an original by a little known Bucks Co. maker E.Bloom.  I deviated from the original by using a John Shuler fowler butt plate.  The original had a butt plate that was probably cut down from a Bess Butt plate and then given a negative pitch.  The negative pitch made the original a bit uncomfortable to shoot.  Bloom used the two "Liberty heads" as a carving at the front of the lock like Antis did.  The fowler sports a 44" 16 ga. Getz barrel, late Ketland lock.  The second fowler is based upon the Melcouir Fordney fowler in Grinslades book of fowlers.  This was a fun build because I have always liked Fordney's destinctive style.  The more I studied the photographs the more details I saw and added. I wish I could have had the original for study before starting this project.   This gun sports a Colerain 20 ga. barrel and a late Ketland lock.

"The highest reward that God gives us for good work is the ability to do better work."  - Elbert Hubbard

Offline duca

Re: A couple of fowlers
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2013, 05:16:38 PM »
Real Nice Lucky! ;D
...and on the eighth day
God created the Longrifle...

Offline elk killer

« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2013, 05:30:16 PM »
nice pieces..
my comment would be, to  have slim the lock panels, a bit more. and hide the pin,
for the trigger guard in the lock mortise.
really nice work
only flintlocks remain interesting..

Offline wattlebuster

« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2013, 06:00:44 PM »
I like em both. You did a great job carving and on the finish. I a big fan of dark stained guns ;D
Nothing beats the feel of a handmade southern iron mounted flintlock on a cold frosty morning

Offline smart dog

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2013, 06:51:55 PM »
Yay Ron!