Author Topic: Early Ketland Lock Thoughts  (Read 4301 times)

Offline Long Ears

Early Ketland Lock Thoughts
« on: July 14, 2013, 07:03:06 PM »
I'm wanting to use a Chambers Early Ketland lock on a trade gun build. I've never used this one before and was surprised to see the lock plate is square edged and not beveled. My question is, should this lock be letted in flush with the plate like a Hawken style? I'm at full stop until I figure this one out. Thanks. Bob

Offline tallbear

• Global Moderator
  • Mitch Yates
Re: Early Ketland Lock Thoughts
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2013, 07:10:31 PM »
Long Ears
I would put a very slight bevel on it and inlet to that.Makes for a cleaner looking inlet.

« Last Edit: July 14, 2013, 07:22:42 PM by aka tallbear »

Offline Telgan

« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2013, 10:52:04 PM »
I have seen this lock done also with a very healthy bevel and it looks great in my estimation. David Dodds used to do them that way. Start the bevel at half the thickness or more of the lock plate. I would guess the angle of his bevel to be in the neighborhood of 45 degree - possibly more. It's a fairly large lock plate - and the bevel gives a slimming illusion - if you will.

Offline Mark Elliott

• Mark Elliott  Artist & Craftsman
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2013, 11:13:16 PM »