Author Topic: Building a chunk gun  (Read 15431 times)

Offline Kermit

Re: Building a chunk gun
« Reply #25 on: December 18, 2013, 06:48:37 AM »
Dennis is right. Underhammers need to go elsewhere. It's in the rules. The blog he suggests is not a forum, however. Any forum suggestions are welcome. Anyplace for non-sidelock muzzloaders like slug guns, RB bench guns, and other NMLRA oddities? No bad feelings at all. I just need some helpful direction.

By the bye, I own two of the unspeakable guns that were listed for sale on this forum.
"Anything worth doing is worth doing slowly." Mae West

jwiant

« Reply #26 on: December 18, 2013, 03:27:06 PM »
I understand this is a traditional sidelock forum.  I have great interest in building traditional sidelocks.  At the same time I am working on several nontraditional underhammers because of there simplicity and economy.  I am not a professional builder and I am trying to gain skills and experience before I move on to nicer more expensive guns.  I love this forum and it is most helpful in any problem I run into.  I don't want to offend anyone or break the rules, so is it alright to post in "over the back fence"?

Offline Kermit

« Reply #27 on: December 18, 2013, 06:44:19 PM »
As I understand the rules, they apply in Over The Fence as well.

From the site's mission statement:

"American Longrifles is the more accurate term for the class of uniquely American firearms better known as Kentucky or Pennsylvania rifles.  While the focus of this site is the American long rifle in all its incarnations,  it is also a home for all those crafts persons preserving a bit of the past by building traditional muzzle loading sporting firearms and their accoutrements. The mission of AmericanLongrifles.com is to promote and support the art and craft of building historically accurate long rifles, related firearms, and accoutrements of the highest quality and artistic merit."

First item under Allowable Topics: