Author Topic: ? About A lock From Castings  (Read 7895 times)

Online James Rogers

• James Rogers
    • Fowling Piece
? About A lock From Castings
« on: January 30, 2009, 12:29:04 AM »
I found this beautiful early English lock that Jack Brooks sells as a castings set.
The castings are supposed to be very clean. I have never atempted a lock from casted parts.
Would one of you members with this type of experience be kind enough to list the process sequence to complete one of these so i can determine if it is above my ability at this time?

Thanks,
James

billd

Re: ? About A lock From Castings
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2009, 01:43:03 AM »
I built one Siler from castings. I had a very good set of instructions and I am a machinist. The build went very well and the lock worked great. I never did any more because when I figured how long it takes me to finish a gun I didn't need to add the time to make a lock to it when I could buy an assembled one from a reputable builder for about $50.00 more. If money is an issue (isn't it always) I would not hesitate to build more again.

How much does the casting set sell for? It's a great looking lock.

Bill

Online James Rogers

• James Rogers
    • Fowling Piece
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2009, 02:10:16 AM »
How much does the casting set sell for? It's a great looking lock.

Bill

$135.00 for the castings I believe.

I don't know of anyone that has finished locks that are that early.

northmn

« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2009, 02:45:11 AM »