Author Topic: Hello from North Iowa – An Introduction, and Thanks to Jim Chambers  (Read 4278 times)

KevinL

Just thought that I would take a little time to say hello as I just signed up today and introduce myself.  My name is Kevin and I have decided after a very long time away from building anything, it's time to get back at it.

Many years ago I attended a rendezvous and was bitten by the blackpowder bug.  I purchased a CVA Mountain Rifle kit and put it together.  About the same time I got into reading Fox Fire 5 (I think), and noticed that a certain Jim Chambers had an address listed if anyone wanted to correspond and I did.  Thinking that I must have been 14 or 15 at that time.  I took a couple of Polaroid's of that first kit build and sent them off with a letter to Jim.  He was nice enough to send me a letter back telling me that I should attend an accredited school if I wanted to learn about firearms building.  After I graduated from high school, I attend the Gunsmithing and Gun Repair classes at SCC in West Burlington, IA, receiving an AAS Degree, and sent Jim another letter letting him know that I had followed his advice.

Like many others, I ended up going to work in a factory and eventually worked my way into the tool room and served an apprenticeship as well as getting an AAS Degree in Tool & Die Technology.  I worked as both a regular tool maker and then go into another apprenticeship as an Eyelet Press Tool maker.