Author Topic: A peep site for retinopathy?  (Read 3391 times)

PKLeRay

A peep site for retinopathy?
« on: June 09, 2015, 11:53:41 AM »
My dad has retinopathy in his right eye and still builds firelocks, but has shyed away from shooting open sights. The retinopathy is basically scar tissue in the eye causing a dead spot when trying to look at open sights. Anyone ever heard of using a peep sight for this to trick the eye? Was a common for poor eyesight?

Online smokinbuck

Re: A peep site for retinopathy?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2015, 06:39:48 PM »
I have several blank (blind) spots in my right eye from macular degeneration. I don't know if it's the same thing as your Dad has but it has played $#*! with shooting. The left upper quadrant of circles is gone as well as various other locations. Neither open or peep sights have helped and I have been shooting lefty for about 10 years. I even put mirrors on a rifle that allowed me to shoot right handed with my left eye. I wish him good luck in his search.
Mark
Mark

PKLeRay

« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2015, 09:45:53 PM »
Thanks. We were wondering if there was some sort of remedy for this. He really wants to hunt again with a flintlock w/open sights. He tried shooting lefty but was all thumbs

leadslinger62

« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2015, 11:16:58 PM »
  Tell Him to keep trying the Lefty thing !! I lost vision in My right Eye and quit shooting for a Year or so. Finally bought Myself a couple cases of.22 Shells and an open sighted .22 and had at it. Now, it is second nature. Good luck.

Offline Clark Badgett

• Oklahoma
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2015, 12:54:31 AM »
Tell you dad to keep at it with the left hand shooting. After a while it will get more natural feeling.
Psalms 144

ShutEyeHunter

« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2015, 07:21:18 AM »