Author Topic: Adice Needed for warped pre curve stock  (Read 8614 times)

Billy52

Adice Needed for warped pre curve stock
« on: July 23, 2015, 11:43:58 PM »
Like the title says I have a warped pre carve stock.  The kit arrived a couple of days ago and everything looks great but I noticed that the fore stock has a warp in it. Check out the pictures.

I have had the barrel fully in the channel for a day and it seemed to straighten out a bit.
I was thinking about steaming the fore stock and then putting the barrel in it fore a few days and see if it straightens out.  Am i on the right track? I phoned the company who shipped it to me for some sort of input or direction , but they are out of town for the week. I think I can correct this, but I am very new to this so everything is uncharted ground. Any sort of advice would be greatly appreciated.  
Cheers, Billy.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2015, 12:11:57 AM by Ky-Flinter »

Offline EC121

Re: Adice Needed for warped pre curve stock
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2015, 11:50:21 PM »
Put the barrel in the wood and leave it.  That thin wood will warp, and it also needs support from the barrel for preventing damage.  By the time you get done shaping it it will be even thinner and more easily broken.   
Brice Stultz

Offline Joe Schell

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2015, 12:02:45 AM »
I wouldn't worry about it. Put the barrel in, tape it in place and leave it , it'll straighten back up. Precarves can warp pretty bad if they sit without a barrel in.

Offline PPatch

« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2015, 12:14:26 AM »
What EC121 & Joe Schell say. What you have there isn't that bad. Anytime you have a stock that far along, in your case a pre-carve) the barrel needs to be always in the stock if you're not actively working with it.

dave
Dave Parks   /   Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Online Ky-Flinter

• Global Moderator
  • Born in Kentucke, just 250 years late
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2015, 12:16:16 AM »
Billy,

I agree with what the boys said above.