Author Topic: Barrel Wedges  (Read 5630 times)

Offline Cory Joe Stewart

• My etsy shop
Barrel Wedges
« on: September 08, 2015, 05:57:23 PM »
Hello all.  I am researching using barrel wedges since I have never done that before.  I know they are specific to certain styles of rifles and time periods and so therefore should be used. 

I do have a couple of questions:

#1. If not specific to a style, are they superior to pins? 

#2.  What is a retaining pin and how does it work?

Regards,

Coryjoe

Offline Dennis Glazener

• Administrator
    • GillespieRifles
Re: Barrel Wedges
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2015, 06:29:10 PM »
Cory,
Wallace Gusler cringes every time he hears me call them wedges. He says the correct term is draw loops/cross keys.

I used to own a flint VA McGilvary that had 4 draw loops/cross keys. That rifle was made near Winchester VA and I understand others in the area used these.
My rifle was a late flint but others will have to expand on time-frame and other areas where makers used draw loops/cross keys.

My rifle did not have escutcheons around the keys but many do. The cross keys in my McGilvary were just flat pieces of brass that were folded down 90 degrees to fit flush with the forestock.

What is a retaining pin and how does it work?
I had an English Fowler that had retaining pins. The wedge/key had a strip down the middle that is open (like a narrow milled out section) there was a pin in the stock that would allow the key to slide in and out of the draw loop, but not enough to allow it to fall out on the ground. I have not seen these on an American Longrifle, some probably had them but I haven't seen them, I think some of the Plains rifles had them.

Dennis

« Last Edit: September 08, 2015, 06:38:38 PM by Dennis Glazener »
"I never considered a difference of opinion in politics, in religion, in philosophy, as cause for withdrawing from a friend" - Thomas Jefferson

Offline Ed Wenger

• Global Moderator