Author Topic: Early Lancaster nosecap  (Read 4602 times)

Offline Dennis Glazener

• Administrator
    • GillespieRifles
Early Lancaster nosecap
« on: March 22, 2009, 08:42:47 PM »
I am in the process of completing one of Jim Chambers early Lancaster kits. I am ready to fasten the nosecap on. Since I normally build NC mountain rifles I have very little experience with Lancaster style rifles. I normally make a copper rivet and place it mid way under the cap (where ram rod goes) and peen it flat with the nose cap. I use copper on both iron and brass hardware.

Is this same procedure proper on early Lancaster rifles? If not how/what should I use.
Dennis
"I never considered a difference of opinion in politics, in religion, in philosophy, as cause for withdrawing from a friend" - Thomas Jefferson

Offline Nate McKenzie

• Luzerne Co. PA
    • Nathan McKenzie Gunmaker
Re: Early Lancaster nosecap
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2009, 09:26:54 PM »

That's how I do it.

Offline PIKELAKE

« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2009, 01:45:16 AM »
I believe the muzzle cap was installed the way you described on most rifles. Now, I know this may ruffel some feathers, but I paint the real thin wood at the end of the stock with Micro Bed ,set the cap and then install the rivet. Sometimes I even paint the inside of the barrel channel inside the cap. My rifles lead a rough and tumble existence and they need all the help I can give them.
JOHN ZUREKI

Offline B Shipman

• W.G. Shipman Gunmaker
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2009, 07:18:25 AM »
There's many ways to do this. But I know Beck used copper rivets much of the time and this was part of Lanc. Co. Actually I woulld'nt worry about it. I usually use a small wood screw and file off the head.

Offline Dennis Glazener

• Administrator
    • GillespieRifles
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2009, 06:27:16 PM »
Thanks to all of you. Hadn't thought of Bill's idea of the small wood screw, just might try that way on this one.
Dennis