Author Topic: Curious about underlugs  (Read 4467 times)

brokenhand

Curious about underlugs
« on: May 21, 2016, 12:14:45 AM »
I just got some solder and flux from Brownell's and have been playing around with it and got to wondering why more folks don't solder their barrel underlugs on rather than dovetailing them in. I was always kind of leery about putting much heat on a barrel, but this solder I got really seems to work well and it is easy. I have been practicing by soldering a small steel loop on to the back of a domed and hammered penny and creating a copper button. Anyway, back to the underlugs, the solder seems to hold real well and is easy and could even be re-located or taken off if need arose. Seems like it would be a good thing. Any negatives to this line of thinking?

Offline Lucky R A

• In Costume
Re: Curious about underlugs
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2016, 12:40:52 AM »
     I have been soldering underlugs on barrels for fifteen years on probably over 200 guns, and have only ever had problems with two that came loose, and that was my fault.   I solder them on lead free solder and immediately cut the excess off the edges with a cold chisel and the don't move.  You can also make nice underlugs for keys  by cutting out the slot from the bottom of the underlug and then solder both ends into place.  This allows the key to ride as close to the bottom of the barrel as possible.   It is quick, easy and reliable---and no worries about cutting or drilling too deeply with other methods.
Ron
"The highest reward that God gives us for good work is the ability to do better work."  - Elbert Hubbard

Offline jerrywh

• Jerrywh-gunmaker- Master  Engraver FEGA.
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2016, 12:42:31 AM »
 Where have I heard some of this before?
Nobody is always correct, Not even me.

Offline BJH

« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2016, 01:44:24 AM »
Just remember to clean and oil the interior of the barrel immediately after your done with your soldering operations. BJH
BJH