Author Topic: Barrel inlays and signatures  (Read 4753 times)

Offline Molly

Barrel inlays and signatures
« on: December 31, 2016, 05:37:59 AM »
I see some builders put their names on an "in-lay" added to the barrel.  Usually light color (silver??).

Can anyone point me to a tutorial on how that's done?  Sure is a classy touch!

Offline Goo

Re: Barrel inlays and signatures
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2016, 06:20:56 AM »
I am not an expert but..... When I do mine I first cut  out the spot on the barrel, sharp hard chisel or mill or whatever but not too deep maybe  a 1/64" - 1/32".   I get the cut shaped nicely then undercut the edges with hand engravers and then I cut a piece of what ever metal I am going to inlay the hole with, IMHO  the metal filler sheet should be twice as thick as the depth.    I bevel 3 sides making as tight a fit as possible so it has to be popped in.     I then anneal the inlay metal and fit the piece into the hole and using a large diameter punch with flat polished end hammer the soft metal to make the edges drift or  expand to fit the undercut hole,    dress polish and engrave .    Experiment,  have fun make mistakes on a practice piece, take a chance on piece of mild steel rod.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2016, 06:23:57 AM by Goo »
Opinions are expensive. Rich people rarely if ever voice their opinion.

Offline smylee grouch

« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2016, 06:35:24 AM »
I think Hershel House did one on one of his video guns, in brass IIRC. Basicly cut out the area and under cut the edges, put brass sheet in and swaged brass into under cut then dressed it down.

Online Daryl

« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2016, 07:50:16 AM »
I think JerryH and DaveC use gold.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2016, 07:50:52 AM by Daryl »
Daryl

"a gun without hammers is like a spaniel without ears" King George V

Offline jerrywh

• Jerrywh-gunmaker- Master  Engraver FEGA.
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2016, 09:51:56 AM »