Author Topic: Southwest Virginia Percussion for a Buddy  (Read 2818 times)

Offline Cory Joe Stewart

• My etsy shop
Southwest Virginia Percussion for a Buddy
« on: February 22, 2017, 06:28:39 PM »
Hello all,

This is my latest creation. I have built it as a gift for a friend of mine.  I looked at some images of originals and contemporary works for the inspiration.  I made it a percussion because the friend I am making it for would probably not feel comfortable with a flintlock, despite my attempts to win him over.  The buddy is a Vietnam Vet and lifelong plumber by trade, and he has always been good to me so I wanted to do this.  Gary Rummell inspired the use of copper, which I thought was fitting since he is a plumber. 

The specifics are,

The barrel is a Rice southern class, in .45.  The locks is a Chamber's percussion, the buttplate is from Track, but I heavily modified it, the trigger guard is a Bivens, which I modified slightly.  The rest I made.  The front sight is a nickel from my buddy's birth year and the rooster on the silver cheek piece is an inside joke. 

I want to hear what you builders think because I need to learn. This is the 5th rifle that I have completely made.  By that I mean start from a blank, inlet barrel, etc.   I will be honest, I have been frustrated with my progress on some aspects.  I will carry out this evaluation like I do my work evaluations by telling you what I think I did well. 

I think I do well with the overall look of the rifle and creativity. 

I also, think I do well with the overall architecture.

Where I fall short are on some of the little details that make so much difference.  My engraving is still very basic.  My woodcarving, comes and goes.  I am not entirely happy with my choice of trigger guard on this project.  I liked it as it was coming together but now something seems off.  I think it is too big.  The stain ended up darker than what I wanted, but I still like it.