Author Topic: David Price builds a new rifle for himself  (Read 6175 times)

Offline David Price

• The Flintlock Shop
David Price builds a new rifle for himself
« on: September 19, 2017, 03:50:08 AM »
Reciently I realized that I can no longer compete shooting off hand.  It breaks my heart because I have I have been doing it for the last forty years, and have won my share of fifty patches at the nationals.  That's over now and I have decided that I must shoot bench matches.  I decided to build myself a New England Bench Rest Rifle.  I have never see one but this is my interpretation  of how  a New England light bench rifle should look. 

I built this rifle in three weeks with parts that I have had here in my shop for a long time.  The barrel is a one inch forty forty five cal Douglas that  someone gave me forty years ago.   I will be shooting it this weekend at the Maine State Championship matches.

David Price

« Last Edit: October 01, 2017, 11:15:57 PM by Tim Crosby »

Online smart dog

• Global Moderator
Re: David pPrice builds a new rifle for himself
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2017, 04:00:56 AM »
Ahh David,
You are our local master up here.  What a fabulous answer to your situation.  It is so New England and appropriate and beautiful.  I am so glad to know you.

dave
"The main accomplishment of modern economics is to make astrology look good."

Offline Kingsburyarms

• Jon Rider
  • member 2
  • Jon Rider
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2017, 04:28:33 AM »
A True Master in more than one way - so glad you built this to head out to Maine and compete - Proud to know you, learn from you, and to truly say I am better because of you - Best of luck in the Maine competition - Proud New England Friend.. looks spot on as an accurate and precision rifle - Go get em'

My Best wishes,

Jon
« Last Edit: September 19, 2017, 04:30:26 AM by Kingsburyarms »

Offline David Price

• The Flintlock Shop
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2017, 04:37:09 AM »
Smart Dog