Author Topic: Gunsmiths of Grenville DVD set  (Read 2060 times)

Offline Mauser06

Gunsmiths of Grenville DVD set
« on: January 27, 2018, 03:32:54 AM »
Anyone have the entire set and able to give an honest review??

I'm a new builder. Working on my 2nd precarve now. I have 3 barrels in planks waiting in line.

My job doesn't really allow for me to get hands on experience or to classes or anything.

I have a few DVDs but nothing so extensive. I have the book as well as recreating the American longrifle and other reference books and some KRA discs etc.

I'm pretty nervous about the planks. They just look intimidating.  Thought the DVD set might be a worthy investment.  Reading material helps...but seeing how it's done can help even more...

Thanx!

Offline oldtravler61

• We all make mistakes.
Re: Gunsmiths of Grenville DVD set
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2018, 03:55:12 AM »
  Mauser06  I have the book an the DVD S. I also have recreating the American long rifle an the Art of Making the Pennisylvania books.
  This is my input from experience no bias (bs).
 If the three books the Art of is the simplest to follow. The second is the Recreating book.  The Greenville book is the most complicated without the dvds that go with it. Peter goes in to great detail an it seems like a zillion layout marks on the stock blank. That at first is very confusing because the other to books don't elaborate on these measurements.
 When you watch the devs all these measurements make sence. At least to me. What you also got to understand is in the dvds. Peter is making a Lehigh style rifle which is more difficult to get right. Wider wrist than depth an other things that if not trained on the Lehigh school most builders miss.
  So in my opinion it is my go to book for building with the dvds for clarification. If you desire on one of the other's it's a toss up as to which one.