Author Topic: Question on barrel finish  (Read 5961 times)

rainmkr

Question on barrel finish
« on: June 12, 2009, 07:50:41 AM »
Hello all. I'm new to all of this and have been reading and absorbing everything I can here. I received an insert in my TOTW catalog regarding the House Brothers rifle that the CLA is raffling and would like to inquire bout the finish on the barrel and other metal parts:
http://housebrothersproject.com/gallery/index.php?action=view&gll=1

I understand that these parts are hand made, but can someone explain to me how they may have achieved the aged/pitted look visible on the barrel and other parts? Thanks in advance for any advice you may be able to impart.

Offline Dave B

Re: Question on barrel finish
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2009, 09:34:20 AM »
Hi Rainmaker,
You are looking at the aging process that some gunmakers used to etch the surface of the steel with water mixed with cloreane bleach and brought to a boil in a closed off aluminum rain gutter placed on a two burner stove out side away from the family. You want to stay away from stainless steel with this concoction it will eat right through your nice stainless pans. Ask me how I know this :-[. Several minutes in the boiling soulution will pit any metal you place into the soultion if its got iron in it. You must take precautions to use masking for the areas not wanting to be etched including sealing off the bore with a wooden plug driven into the muzzle and no touch hole drilled yet. You cant just walk away from it while this is being done it can get out of hand in a hurry if your not careful.
Dave Blaisdell

erdillonjr

« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2009, 01:28:32 PM »
What is the ratio of bleach to water? Ed

Online P.Bigham

« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2009, 02:40:09 PM »
 A cold bluing solution put on a barrel followed up with bleach. leaves a aged look. Repeated applicants with deepen the look.
" not all who wander are lost"

rainmkr

« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2009, 05:18:37 PM »