Author Topic: Pictures of my longrifle for your assistance....  (Read 4571 times)

Teun

Pictures of my longrifle for your assistance....
« on: June 15, 2009, 03:09:07 AM »
These are some pictures of my gun  that I have taken...I apologize for the poor quality.  As hard as I try I can never seem to get good pictures.  I think this may be a Reading gun, but am not sure. It is 57" long with a barrel length of 41 3/8" inches long.  I was under the impression that this piece was around 1810, but someone has told me it is probably 1830s?  I don't know...the single lock screw has me curious...is this something that was seen on Reading pieces?  Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.  I am very new to all this and am having a blast. 

longrifle

Re: Pictures of my longrifle for your assistance....
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2009, 03:27:36 AM »
I am sorry I can't help you much on information but that is a nice looking old rifle.

Offline Tanselman

• member 2
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2009, 05:14:28 AM »
Some of these old rifles have suffered alterations, making it harder to identify them. In this rifle's case, I think there is a good chance the patchbox is a later addition to an originally plain rifle. I base this on the non-standard 3 segment hinge, the odd shape of the finial, wider than expected lid, and the total lack of dark staining in the wood immediately around the patchbox, from the metal (brass) oxides being rubbed off into the wood over many years. The triggers also look rather later than the rifle, if they are original.