Author Topic: gunstock refinishing  (Read 1482 times)

Offline hawkeye

gunstock refinishing
« on: October 03, 2019, 12:54:04 PM »
hello guys,
i,m a very new in building guns.I bought a flintlock assembled but no carving or patchbox or so.
did some woodcarving before and now I wonna refinish the gun with patchbox and some carving.

for the stock refinishing: do I just sand old finish away or are there other or better metods to get the job done?

thanks ahead

hawkeye

Offline WadePatton

• Tennessee
Re: gunstock refinishing
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2019, 03:22:34 PM »
I'm a scraper, with sandy papers only used for very sparingly.

Depends somewhat on the compatibility of the old finish and your intended finish.  There are many different concoctions used.

Tell us what you plan on finishing it with and some will be able to advise further.  I'm no expert.  Also maybe test some new finish over the old to see how they "compat". That way you might save yourself the hassle of removing all the old finish.
Hold to the Wind

Offline alacran

« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2019, 03:54:31 PM »
I would use a good stripper first, like Jasco. Follow their directions most old varnish type finishes come off fairly easy. Scotch brite pads and plastic putty knives. The directions say to use water to rinse the stuff off, but further on it says you can use mineral spirits to rinse.
It saves a lot of work and sandpaper.
A man's rights rest in three boxes: the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.  Frederick Douglass

Offline Dave Marsh

« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2019, 03:58:07 PM »
I am not an expert either but have always used Citristrip and scrapers on guns and any other refinishing job.  The Citristrip does the job and wife doesn't mind the smell.  Good luck.

Dave
"Those who give up freedom for security deserve neither freedom nor security."
~ Benjamin Franklin

Offline hawkeye

« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2019, 12:29:57 AM »