Author Topic: Where to mount Patternmaker's vise for best versatility?  (Read 2736 times)

Offline Oil Derek

Where to mount Patternmaker's vise for best versatility?
« on: January 01, 2021, 06:58:31 AM »
Looking for sage advice from you pros.  I just bought a Patternmaker's vise from Woodcraft. I don't really want to Swiss cheese my bench to gain maximum versatility, so where is the better/best single point location on a bench top to mount it? My gut thinks opposite corner of where my wood vise is mounted. If so how close to the edges? I also reckon I could use the wood vise to clamp a base for said vise. Let me know your thoughts please.

Offline Bob McBride

• TENNESSEE
    • Black Powder TV
Re: Where to mount Patternmaker's vise for best versatility?
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2021, 08:07:45 AM »
I’m no pro but here are lots of options. I’d say if you don’t have room for a peninsula bench that you can move around then put it near the edge in a spot that allows you to move your fore end brace from one side to the other so you can work either side of a stock.

Online Nazgul

« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2021, 02:31:27 PM »
Don't have pics yet, mounted mine to a 2" x 12" piece of wood I had. Ran it through the planer so it is smooth. Mounted the vise on one end, made a moveable rest that slides for the other. Have a really nice commercial workbench I got for a steal and didn't want to drill it. The plank clamps on both ends, vise sticks off the edge.

Will try to get some pics later.

Don

Offline Nordnecker

« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2021, 03:09:46 PM »
I did like Nazgul and really like this arrangement. I use my bench for many projects other than gunbuilding. I like being able to move the whole thing out of my way. I lean against the wall when not in use. I can set it up and clamp it down in less than a minute.