Author Topic: Another stupid spring question  (Read 981 times)

Offline smallpatch

• Dane Lund
Another stupid spring question
« on: March 24, 2022, 10:15:55 PM »
I am building a matchlock lock. It has just one spring, to return the cock to the top position.
The springs are 6150. The Riffle Shoppe recommends a water quench, then bringing to blue/black and letting it cool on a piece of wood.
I am not very good at the whole metal color thing, and was wondering if I can do the lay it on top of a lead pot, melting the lead, then removing when it is liquid.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
In His grip,

Dane

Offline bobw

Re: Another stupid spring question
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2022, 06:19:56 PM »
Dane,
I make quite a few springs from scratch using 1070 and 1080 steel.  After hardening I temper them back by burning off motor oil that covers them.  If you look up Kit Ravenshear’s book on making springs he does a good job of explaining it. But basically is all you do is put the spring in a small tin and just cover it with oil.  Then heating it from the bottom gets the oil boiling and it will ignite and start burning the oil.  I intermittently keep the heat under it to keep things moving along.  Burn most of the oil off and you are done.  Of course be careful doing this as the oil is very hot.  I have never had a spring fail using this method.  The book is Simplified V Springs by Kit Ravenshear and is available now on ebay.
Bob

Offline P.W.Berkuta

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2022, 07:14:10 PM »