Author Topic: Angel on one shoulder, devil on t'other  (Read 2216 times)

Offline Cooter

• Starting Member
Angel on one shoulder, devil on t'other
« on: December 27, 2022, 02:37:35 AM »
I've been lurking here for a while, enjoying the conversations!  I've also been building a Kibler SMR, and despite contrarian advice from the man himself, decided to make a nosecap for it.  I'm pretty happy with it and learned some lessons along the way.  The bending went pretty well once I made the jig.  I'm not very experienced with metal work, and have a question:  I'm fixing to attach the front to the cap and was planning to silver solder it.  But, when I was filing it to fit, it occurred to me that the little horns near the top might overheat and ruin the whole thing.  Then the devil popped up on my shoulder and said "just JB Weld it".  Any of you have any wisdom to offer?  Am I doomed to eternal damnation with the JB Weld?  OK, that was two questions.  In advance, I very much appreciate any advice.

Thanks! 
Steve

Offline Stoner creek

Re: Angel on one shoulder, devil on t'other
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2022, 02:52:07 AM »
JB Weld is a good product but it won’t hold up in the long run in your particular application.
Stop Marxism in America

Offline Bill Raby

« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2022, 02:52:44 AM »
Go with solder.

Offline oldtravler61

• We all make mistakes.
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2022, 03:28:48 AM »
  Some of the originals were filled with lead on the end of the cap....

Offline Dennis Glazener

• Administrator
    • GillespieRifles
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2022, 03:32:33 AM »