Author Topic: is this the welome wagon ?  (Read 4728 times)

peabody

is this the welome wagon ?
« on: January 29, 2010, 04:28:48 AM »
hello,

im a new guy to this site,  read a post by waksupi, and followed it here,

glad i did,  im just an old tanker truck driver, who dreams of southern style poor boy longrifles,

wishes i had some talent, dont have anything to add, just came over to look, learn, and drool alot.

wow, some awsome beauitfull rifles.

peabody

jwh1947

Re: is this the welome wagon ?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2010, 05:42:41 AM »
You don't need talent.  I am living proof.

Michael

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2010, 03:26:15 PM »
Peabody,

Welcome aboard!!

Michael

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2010, 05:57:02 PM »
You don't need talent to make a nice rifle, just patience.

I was once in awe of an artist who drew absolutely great caricature cartoons at work of supervisors(much to their dismay). I told him I wish I had his talent. What he told me stuck with me and is responsible for every crafty project I ever tackled.

He said he wasn't a talented artist but one who practiced the same things over and over until he learned the technique to create the desired effect.

I took his words to heart and being a duck hunter I tried my hand at carving wooden decoys. My first looked like I chopped it out with an axe, after i passed #15 they looked like they could get up an fly away, I had learned the necessary carving techniques.

Next came bow making, same progression over time, from crude to some of the best.

Now I just finished my first rifle .  I find in gun building you have the same progression but can learn the necessary construction  techniques as you work your way from buttplate to nose cap. of your first rifle . You will also learn how to fix or cover up the inevitable goof ups.

Give gun building a try, it is a great pastime.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2010, 05:58:43 PM by Eric Krewson »

peabody