Author Topic: Your thoughts about the RE Davis Late English" Flintlock?  (Read 20352 times)

Offline Dr. Tim-Boone

• Global Moderator
  • I Like this hat!!
Your thoughts about the RE Davis Late English" Flintlock?
« on: September 16, 2010, 04:09:45 PM »
This is the right time period.....but does this lock function well?  Anything close to a small siler or late Ketland from Chambers??  I like the style, but I have no experience with Davis locks..... I am sure it meets some standard of function or it wouldn't stay on the market. I just don't want to trade off too much substance for style.

http://www.redaviscompany.com/0269.html

Your experience??
« Last Edit: September 16, 2010, 05:25:50 PM by DrTimBoone »
De Oppresso Liber
Marietta, GA

Liberty is the only thing you cannot have unless you are willing to give it to others. – William Allen White

Learning is not compulsory...........neither is survival! - W. Edwards Deming

Offline Simon

Re: Your thoughts about the RE Davis Late English" Flintlock?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2010, 04:42:35 PM »
I have one that Davis calls a late Ketland, it has a square tail.  It is as well tuned as any lock that I have tried although I will have to say that I have not had that many, probably a half dozen.
 One feature that I like is the  speed that the frizzen kicks over.  It sparks very well with both  black english and Riches Flints.  I will buy another if I need that style.

Mel
Mel Kidd

Offline Nate McKenzie

• Luzerne Co. PA
    • Nathan McKenzie Gunmaker
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2010, 06:00:23 PM »
I've used this and several other Davis locks and never been disappointed.

Offline D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2010, 06:56:05 PM »
Tim, I've used this lock on two rifles.  It serves well.  I think its best feature apart from its styling for a particular style of rifle, is its very quick action.
D. Taylor Sapergia
www.sapergia.blogspot.com