Author Topic: G/M barrels any runout?  (Read 8055 times)

Offline Roger Fisher

G/M barrels any runout?
« on: November 01, 2010, 04:33:30 PM »
Dragged a green mt barrel outta the basement rafters and its been there 15 years or so.  Is it a must to breech her with the emblem and cal stamping on bottom flat due to run out?  This is the first g/m I've used (I think) She is a 50 in 15/16th straight.  Plug is now shouldered up against the bore and tang tight with top flat; but I'm one flat away from having that stamping on the top.  I'm thinking to worry her in that one more flat and then draw file that fairly shallow stamping off? Or do I go all the way around (draw filing) so said stamping is on the bottom.  Looks as though I would still have a hair more than 1/2 inch plug depth.....

What do you Green Mt barrel experts have to say on this one? ::)

Offline Ben I. Voss

Re: G/M barrels any runout?
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2010, 04:51:48 PM »
Roger, I'm no expert, but Green Mountain barrels are made in such a way that there should be no run-out. I've never had a problem with run-out on a GM barrel and I don't think you'll need to worry about it either - I'd finish her down where you have it indexed now.   Ben

Offline P.W.Berkuta

« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2010, 05:15:54 PM »
I use a lot of the GM barrels and I like them - for the price they are hard to beat. That said I still either mount their logo either on top or bottom. Some people don't mind if it shows and as you said you can file it off.
"The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person who is doing it." - Chinese proverb

FG1

« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2010, 05:29:01 PM »
They have none. That are milled concentric with bore. ;)

Offline LynnC

« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2010, 06:38:43 PM »
I breeched one with GM logo one flat off top and it shoots center.  I think they are milled to center the bore and the logo placed on any flat.