Author Topic: Finished my winter project.  (Read 5052 times)

razor62

Finished my winter project.
« on: May 02, 2011, 08:09:10 PM »

Allen Boxlock action from Petaconica River. Semi inlet / semi-fancy walnut also from Peticonica. Barrel is a .58 cal with a fast R.O.T. from Numerich Arms that I bought 20 years ago in new condition for $25.00 . Most of the remaining parts are from Track of The Wolf.

I fell in love with this action the first time that I laid eyes on it. So, now I've got a nice hunting rig built around that action. I'm no professional at this stuff so there are a few "whoopsies" that I'll be keeping to myself but all in all I'm quite pleased with the way it turned out. Haven't fired it yet. I did proof the barred action prior to final fit, finish and assembly. First with a heavy TC hunter atop 120 grains of Goex FFG followed by two more shots with the same bullet over 150 grains. She digested those loads with no ill effects. Hopefully she'll group well enough to hunt whitetails here in New England.

Let me know what you think...?

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: Finished my winter project.
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2011, 09:05:49 PM »
Very nice, clean work!
Andover, Vermont

Offline Kermit

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2011, 09:15:51 PM »
Very nice! There's something that appeals in a boxlock. It's he same sort of esthetic that shows in a lot of the old singleshot actions. I'd be proud to hunt with such a fine piece of work.
"Anything worth doing is worth doing slowly." Mae West

greybeard

« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2011, 09:33:17 PM »
Very nice indeed.  Many years ago I had  a gun by G P Foster Bristol Rhode Island with the same action with a sheet iron forend.

Offline Dr. Tim-Boone

• Global Moderator
  • I Like this hat!!
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2011, 10:09:59 PM »
Beautiful work!!   You hid your "whoopsies" quite well!!  How much does it weigh??