Author Topic: shot the flintlock today, what fun!  (Read 8619 times)

Offline plastikosmd

shot the flintlock today, what fun!
« on: July 11, 2011, 01:34:30 AM »
well we went out and shot it today, what a hoot

This is my first time shooting this rifle and a flintlock in general.  I still dont know how much to prime the pan with.  I also learned that the second worst place to stand when someone is shooting (a flintlock) is next to the pan.  Felt like 20 angry bees stung me all at once when my friend shot! Stood back another 8 ft and still got it a bit. As far as target shooting, I consider myself a good shot and I am able to focus through recoil.  This was hard due to the flash and slight delay, I found it was hard to keep focus on the target and not blink/move.  Nevertheless after a few shots I shot the 2 5 shot groups at 100 yrds. Caliber is 515, ball was 520 with a .015 teflon patch, 100g 2F.  Overall I am happy and it shot well.  The amazing thing is that all of the sights are swapable among the 4 rifles.  I havent had to adjust any of the sights! Just bolt up and shoot, be it 451, .626 or this 515, they all hit the 12" black at 100 yrds.  I guess that says something about Mr. Morris and his construction.
The rifle

Todays work, black patch are on the 2 fouling shots, one for each group, clicked the sight over a bit as not to stack on top of the other group

Offline frenchman

• Keep it simple
Re: shot the flintlock today, what fun!
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2011, 01:58:36 PM »
what kind of precision can you get out of one of these monsters, , can you give me a rundown of the makers for the parts of this gun.
Denis

Offline Dan

« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2011, 02:27:46 PM »
That's pretty fair shootin' for a flinter. ;D

Can't tell a lot about the details from the photo so far as the front rest goes, but I've a suggestion for your consideration and it goes to the nature of your rests, front and back.