Author Topic: Fusil fin stock pitch allowance for short barrel  (Read 3617 times)

ddoyle

Fusil fin stock pitch allowance for short barrel
« on: January 25, 2012, 02:35:12 AM »
Hi:

I am building from a TOTW fusil fin plan using a 20 inch NSW barrel and a blank. It is my first build and the short barrel was a nod to economy and to the fact that there is half the length to inlet. Ultimately this is a 'practice' build in anticipation of a more pricey full length build. I have been lurking and reading here for some time and I promise I wont call this gun by anything other then an "apprentice gun"
loL I understand nomeculture can be irritating. Plans for the .575 smoothbore is ground sluicing roadside grouse and 30 yard deer killing.

After many an hour of laying out parts and templates, thinking and pondering I am getting close to laying a saw to the wood.

After reading and doing the measuring outlined in the tutorial section I am happy with the TOTW pattern in terms of fitting me. BUT

My question is this:

With the short barrel should I be doing anything different in terms of Stock Pitch? There is obviously a ton of pitch in the stock as shown in the pattern which is designed for the 40 inch barrel.
I have the idea in my head that stock pitch if determined by barrel length and this is defienlty not the barrel length that the guys who built the original and drew the plans had in mind ;)

I have been long in the planning/sharpening/tool making phase of the project and am very much looking forward to moving along but also really want this gun to point well.   Any advice would be much appreciated.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2012, 02:40:08 AM by ddoyle »

The other DWS

Re: Fusil fin stock pitch allowance for short barrel
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2012, 03:13:41 AM »