Author Topic: Copper Rivets  (Read 5075 times)

MSLitho

Copper Rivets
« on: November 22, 2008, 04:16:18 PM »
I am somewhat new to gun building.  What size copper rivet is most commonly used?  I know Jim Chambers uses a 100 degree countersunk, but not sure of the diameter or length.  In addition, where can you purchase them?

Ephraim

Re: Copper Rivets
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2008, 04:21:00 PM »
Hi for rivets on nose caps I use copper wire.
Ephraim

Offline Dave B

« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2008, 05:50:06 PM »
You might be able to find copper rivets at your local shoe repair shop. Out here we have Oregon Leather Co. that sells all the fun stuff for saddle makers as well as shoe findings. Tandy leather has some #12 harness makers rivets which work well (though are abit large for the job)and come in a bag of 50 (a bit over kill)  http://www.tandyleatherfactory.com/products.asp?DEPT=230&Page=3

The copper wire trick is a good way to go, If you want only one rivet. I personally like to use a #14 copper rivet it has a shank size of about 3/32 so after you peen it out its 3/16 in dia. If your set on using a copper rivet and can't come up with one near by drop me an E-Mail. I use them in my practice, both #14 and #12
Dave Blaisdell

Offline Pete G.

« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2008, 12:56:42 AM »
I bought a package of copper tacks at the hardware store. Thet are not very precise and need a little cleaning up, but there are plenty of them and the price is negliable.

Offline D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2008, 01:54:10 AM »
I use harness rivets.  They are pure copper and rivet nicely.  I file the head square so it takes up less room in the barrel channel, is easier to inlet, and orient.
D. Taylor Sapergia
www.sapergia.blogspot.com

Art is not an object.  It is the excitement inspired by the object.

Offline Benedict

« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2008, 09:34:40 PM »