Author Topic: PERCUSSION LOCK DIS- ASSEMBLY AND RE-ASSEMBLY  (Read 4753 times)

Offline Topknot

• www.yahoo.com
PERCUSSION LOCK DIS- ASSEMBLY AND RE-ASSEMBLY
« on: July 26, 2012, 06:30:56 PM »
 HELP!!! I am at the point of my first build that i need to take apart my percussion lock. this is my first build and i havent a clue the process of taking apart the lock or re-assembly. picture also would help. it is a large siler lock.

thanks in advance,

topknot
TIM COMPTON, SR.

layover to catch meddlers!

4ster

Re: PERCUSSION LOCK DIS- ASSEMBLY AND RE-ASSEMBLY
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2012, 07:14:39 PM »
I don't have any experience yet with percussion locks but it should be similar to a flint lock.  The one indispensable tool you need is a spring vise.   Also use only gunsmith's screwdrivers, which are hollow ground.  I purchased a set of hollow ground tips at my local hardware store but still had to modify the largest one on my bench grinder to be thin enough to fit the screw that keeps the hammer on the tumbler.

After using the spring vise to remove the mainspring, you can disassembe the parts around the tumbler.  Keep track of how the parts fit back together in a way that works for you.  Be careful if your lock has a fly on the tumbler, it is small and easy to loose.  To seperate the tumbler from the hammer, support the lock plate in a way that the tumbler is free, then use a brass pin or hardwood dowel that is smaller than the square hole in the hammer to carefully drive the tumbler out of the hammer.  When you reassemble, place the hammer and lock plate on a smooth surface to keep from marring them and gently tap the tumbler back into the square tapered hole in the hammer.  Don't use the hammer screw to seat the tumbler and hammer, it is an easy way to break the screw.

An example of a spring vise:
http://www.trackofthewolf.com/Categories/PartDetail.aspx/1038/1/TOOL-VISE
« Last Edit: July 26, 2012, 07:29:11 PM by 4ster »

Offline Long Ears