Author Topic: Question regarding turning breech plugs with snails.  (Read 8510 times)

Offline Rolf

• There's more than one way to skin a cat.
Question regarding turning breech plugs with snails.
« on: May 13, 2012, 05:59:04 PM »
I have been given an old emco compact 8 lathe. It came with a 110mm, 3-jaw self-centering chuck and a dead center. Rest of the tooling I have to buy myself. I'm a complete newbie at lathe work and have a few questions.

1.I want to do off-center turning to make breech plugs with snails. (Nobody has left-handed versions of what I want) I'm thinking of buying a 125mm ,4 jaw- independent chuck. I've been looking at chucks on the internet. How do I know if if chuck can be mounted on my lathe?

2.In general, how do I know which tooling fits my lathe? I've bougth a couple of books on mini-laths and none answer this question.

3Online metals has 1"x2"  cold rolled , 1018 barstock for sale. A 12" piece costs 16$. Is this material suitable for breechplugs ? I know there has been post warning against cold rolled steel used in drums.

4.I plan to buy:

live-center
Tailstock chuck
4 jaw indepentent chuck
HSS set of turning chizels (8mm).

Anything I should put on the list?

Best regards
Rolf

« Last Edit: May 13, 2012, 07:41:40 PM by Rolf »

Offline P.W.Berkuta

Re: Question regarding turning breech plugs with snails.
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2012, 06:38:34 PM »