Author Topic: snaphaunce  (Read 1217 times)

Offline Adrie luke

snaphaunce
« on: October 03, 2023, 02:23:29 PM »
Hello

I'm studying some snaphaunce locks.
I don't understand how this sear works.

Does anyone have an explanation?

Thanks Adrie

Offline Mike Brooks

• Mike Brooks Gunmaker
Re: snaphaunce
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2023, 04:26:18 PM »
These need a vertical trigger mounted way high and in front of the sear . The trigger pulls the sear back instead of pushing it up.
NEW WEBSITE! www.mikebrooksflintlocks.com
Say, any of you boys smithies? Or, if not smithies per se, were you otherwise trained in the metallurgic arts before straitened circumstances forced you into a life of aimless wanderin'?

Offline Frozen Run

Offline Adrie luke

« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2023, 04:50:11 PM »

Mike

I have seen the vertical trigger, but how does the trigger pull the sear from the tumbler, or how does the sear go up.

Offline Adrie luke

« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2023, 04:58:17 PM »
Frozen Run

Thanks your system i understand.

Adrie

Offline Bob Roller

« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2023, 05:05:34 PM »
Can we see what it looks like at full cock?
Bob Roller

Offline Adrie luke

« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2023, 05:12:06 PM »
Bob
No i have only this pictures

Offline Adrie luke

« Reply #7 on: October 03, 2023, 07:42:12 PM »
Here my plan

Normal

Full cock

I miss something 

Offline Metalshaper

« Reply #8 on: October 03, 2023, 07:55:03 PM »
Adrie,

I'll take a swing at this???

the sear system, to me?, is a two part affair. The lever that engages the tumbler is what I would call the primary and the release is a secondary.
when the cock is pulled to the rear, the primary sear moves clockwise,< looking at it from the inside>. as its nose goes up the tail lowers and allows the secondary to move forward and engage. when in position the secondary sear hold the primary into engagement with the tumbler.