Author Topic: Precarve "Tennessee" Lock Swap  (Read 4985 times)

Daveco

Precarve "Tennessee" Lock Swap
« on: June 15, 2015, 04:57:40 AM »

This is my first build, and I (like many others) jumped in whole hog and bought some parts- THEN I slowed down and got a little more serious about researching and learned that a Siler wasn't a good choice for a "Tennessee" style of rifle. So several months back I asked on here about what options I might have for swapping the Small Siler to a more appropriate English style. As was suggested, I went with the Chambers Late Ketland, and with some measuring and head scratching this is what I have so far. I just wanted to post it here now, because I know that there are others that had the same questions that I did. Precarves are an okay way to get started I guess, but this will be the last one for me- the next will be from a blank.

Please ignore the large "CHAMBERS" etched into the lock plate....  ::) it seemed like a good idea at the time. Ended up being too far under the cock and a LOT bigger than I really wanted...... maybe next time.

I work very slow, and have about 8 months invested in the project so far- and still have several details to take care of. It'll probably be a few more months before I can start chipping away at those. My goal though is to use it to put a deer in the freezer this fall.  It's a Rice .40 cal 13/16' X 42". When I finally get around to finishing it up I'll post more pictures for suggestions and areas that I need to pay better attention to on the next one.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2015, 02:10:43 PM by DavidW. »

Offline Cory Joe Stewart

• My etsy shop
Re: Precarve "Tennessee" Lock Swap
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2015, 05:27:49 AM »
Good choice on the lock swap. What you have looks good.  The lock panels are a little off because of the swap. But they do not stand out nearly as much as having the wrong lock.  Would love to see more images.

Coryjoe

Offline PPatch

« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2015, 05:35:32 AM »