Author Topic: Set triggers for a Beck  (Read 4580 times)

Offline wvmtnman

Set triggers for a Beck
« on: December 26, 2008, 01:58:21 AM »
For my next project I have decided to make a .42 caliber Beck with set triggers.  I know that there are a few Becks out there with set triggers but not many.  I am going to make the triggers for the rifle but was wondering how they should look.  Should the back trigger be curved, sort of straight or does it really matter?  (I currently do not have RCA but I am ordering it this week)
                                                           Thanks, Brian
B. Lakatos

Offline Ky-Flinter

• Global Moderator
  • Born in Kentucke, just 250 years late
Re: Set triggers for a Beck
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2008, 04:41:15 AM »
Brian,

I'm no expert, but I wanted to put my new books to use!  I checked RCA 1 and 2 and Kindig's "Thoughts" and none of the guns shown that are signed by or attributed to J.P. Beck have double set triggers.  One rifle, RCA #98, does have a single set trigger.  It is gently curved with no curly decoration on the end. 

The J.P. Beck rifle shown in the ALR Virtual Library also seems to have a regular trigger.

Hopefully others with additional references will chime in.

-Ron
« Last Edit: December 26, 2008, 04:52:38 AM by KyFlinter »
Ron Winfield

Life is too short to hunt with an ugly gun. -Nate McKenzie

northmn

« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2008, 03:06:56 PM »
I have a book by Johnson, published by the KRA and have not seen any DSTs Beck's work.  His single triggers seem to have a flat bottom that looks like they were cut off, no curl.  If he made rifles with DST's, he may have traded for them.  Dickert is said to have made locks for other gunsmiths.

DP

rogero

« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2008, 04:47:13 PM »
there are pictures os a beck with set triggers in the july august issue of muzzleloader
ROG

J.D.

« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2008, 09:09:15 PM »