Author Topic: a meeting with Peter A Alexander  (Read 7447 times)

rogero

a meeting with Peter A Alexander
« on: December 24, 2008, 09:56:35 PM »
First off, as I am a newbie to this fine art, I just wanted to say hi to all of you and of course Merrry Christmas! Today, the 24th of december, I met with Peter A Alexander the author of the gunsmith of grenville county, and what a meeting!! the wealth of information that this kind hearted man posesses is
truly amazing and mind boggling!!! I seen things in his shop i never thought possible. but there it was in iron and wood.
and to a beginner such as myself, truly inspiring. and if i learned anything at all today, it's keep it simple! and that I dont need a million dollars worth of tools! but knowledge and friendship are priceless.
Peter , if you read this,,, thank you ever so much! and again Merry Christmas

titanicslim

Re: a meeting with Peter A Alexander
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2008, 11:35:17 PM »
I've never met him, but would love to.  His book is indispensable- surely the single most  useful source on the subject.

rogero

« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2008, 01:05:36 AM »
another book he has had a hand in is the latest edition of building the american longrifle( so I found out today.) he showed me a hand forged swamped barrel he made when he was at colonial williamsbug,,,
amazing piece of work!  If I ever get one thenth of the knowledge that the man has forgotten, I will be ablle to make one heck of a long rile!

rogero

« Reply #3 on: December 25, 2008, 01:12:48 AM »
I guess that should have been Recreating the american longrifle (yet annothe newbie mistake)

California Kid

« Reply #4 on: December 25, 2008, 09:03:52 AM »
Rogero- Welcome to the forum, but use your own intellect, don't be influenced by any one source.
This is how we all learn.

rogero

« Reply #5 on: December 25, 2008, 04:16:38 PM »