Author Topic: touch hole size for small caliber....  (Read 4036 times)

woodboxmaker

touch hole size for small caliber....
« on: November 22, 2012, 03:17:47 PM »
hello all, happy thanksgiving.....ive been building flintlocks off and on for 28 years, but ive never built a flint rifle in 32 caliber. Thats just what im doing. I generally drill 45 caliber through 68 with a 1/16" drill, then slightly coned from the outside. This has produced excellent results, but I would think the small bore might be more consistent with a smaller hole? Dont know how small I can go, or so to say proper size torch hole for 32....any feedback would be helpful

mattdog

Re: touch hole size for small caliber....
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2012, 05:19:01 PM »
My personal rule of thumb:  Don't drill the touch hole any smller than what you can keep clean so a 1/16" is minimum.  Regardless of the caliber.

Happy Thanksgiving!!!

mjm46@bellsouth.net

« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2012, 05:24:04 PM »
I just built a .36 with a WL Liner that I opened up to 1/16" .  I don't know why the vent would want to be smaller, it is still the same amout of fire in the pan to ignite the main charge and it still has to go through 1/4" more or less of steel barrel wall to ignite the main charge.

I say make the vent hole the same as all your other flintlocks.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

Offline Dennis Glazener

• Administrator
    • GillespieRifles
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2012, 06:27:49 PM »
hello all, happy thanksgiving.....ive been building flintlocks off and on for 28 years, but ive never built a flint rifle in 32 caliber. Thats just what im doing. I generally drill 45 caliber through 68 with a 1/16" drill, then slightly coned from the outside. This has produced excellent results, but I would think the small bore might be more consistent with a smaller hole? Dont know how small I can go, or so to say proper size torch hole for 32....any feedback would be helpful