Author Topic: Bench Rest  (Read 4247 times)

Number19

Bench Rest
« on: December 18, 2012, 05:43:31 AM »
I'm new to BP shooting and see numerous comments about using a bench rest, particularly for developing loads and sighting in, with the goal of finding a load that will consistently produce 1" groups at 50 yards. My question is, when shooters refer to a bench rest hold, what type of hold are they referring to: a two point rest or a one point rest?

Offline Dphariss

• Kill a Commie for your Mommy
Re: Bench Rest
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2012, 06:08:10 AM »
The position that gives the smaller groups.

Dan
He who dares not offend cannot be honest. Thomas Paine

Candle Snuffer

« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2012, 06:42:15 AM »
When I bench a rifle to zero while working up a load, I shoot off a Caldwell rest.  I hold the rifle into my shoulder as I would when shooting standing/offhand (since 99% of my shooting is standing/offhand), and I rest the forestock on the Caldwell rest.  I try to make sure my angle while sitting is the same as when I'm standing, and I try to make sure the height of my rifle in my shoulder aligns the same off the rest as if I were standing.  This works for me.  Others may have different techniques.

Now if you are just searching for the most accurate load - it's what Dan says.

Offline Standing Bear

« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2012, 11:31:05 PM »
I'm like Snuffer.
Assuming cresent butt plate, Sit facing right angle to target.
Sand bags high enough to sit straight up.
Rest fore arm on sand bag at same place the forward hand holds.
Hold toe of rifle between index finger and thumb w hand resting on sand bag.
Elbow of shooting hand rested.
Butt plate on upper arm.
Nothing is hard if you have the right equipment and know how to use it.  OR have friends who have both.

http://texasyouthhunting.com/

Daryl

« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2012, 02:12:34 AM »