Author Topic: New Vision  (Read 8081 times)

sweed

New Vision
« on: April 17, 2013, 12:56:00 AM »
 :-\ I need a little advise as to where the balance is on quality/$$$$ in visors. I've seen prices from $17.00 to over $200.00. While I am having some trouble seeing what I need to on the bench, maybe not that much..? I like to buy good tools once ;) and not have to replace or upgrade them for non-performance! I wear wallyworld cheeters, 1.75s what ever that is. ::) Sometimes I have to stack 2 pair for fine stuff, but that will get gungrease on my nose if I'm not careful.  :D So is there a consensus on which visor is in my future? ??? Is there a way to figure out what power to buy for a given working distance?

God Bless

Offline KLMoors

Re: New Vision
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2013, 01:05:08 AM »
I've been using an Optivisor for a couple of years and I have absolutely no complaints. Works great, survives being dropped, scraped, and lost on the bench right in front of me.

I'm not sure which lenses I've got in it.

Offline Wolfeknives

« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2013, 01:19:49 AM »
I have been using an Optivisor for thirty years. They have glass lenses, keeps the scratches to a minimum. I use a 5 power, it has a short working distance, which is ok for detail work. I use them for my knife work, don't know what working distance is needed for gun work. Their website lists the power/working distances. One problem I have found with the new Optivisors are the plastic visor bolts they have gone to. They are impossible to adjust for proper tension, keep coming loose. That feature would make me look for a different manufacturer when mine need replacing.

Wolfgang

Offline shortbarrel

« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2013, 01:47:30 AM »