Author Topic: Carving Drawing  (Read 14181 times)

Offline J. Talbert

Re: Carving Drawing
« Reply #25 on: April 25, 2013, 07:08:59 PM »
Thanks for the picture of the original.  That clears up a lot.

I'll just say that I think that Bill's carving and Dave's drawing are both better than the original.  ;D
I'm a rank amateur compared to Bill and many others here, but I would not try to copy that carving without attempting to improve the design.

Jeff
There are no solutions.  There are only trade-offs.”
Thomas Sowell

Offline P.W.Berkuta

« Reply #26 on: April 25, 2013, 07:35:40 PM »
Thanks for the picture of the original.  That clears up a lot.

I'll just say that I think that Bill's carving and Dave's drawing are both better than the original.  ;D
I'm a rank amateur compared to Bill and many others here, but I would not try to copy that carving without attempting to improve the design.

Jeff
Ha, ha, ha -- I also think that the original need some revamping -- that rear scroll is poor and an eye sore -- :D :D!
"The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person who is doing it." - Chinese proverb

J.Cundiff

« Reply #27 on: April 25, 2013, 07:58:30 PM »
I understand... and others have advised not to get creative, but rather to just try to copy exactly an original, which is what I'm doing. I'm trying to limit my improvements purely to smoothness and proportion... as it's obvious the original has been beat up some over the years. Everyone has different tastes, and I've always really enjoyed this particular carving, flaws and all. Funny you say you're a rank amateur... this is my first rifle build!  ;D

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #28 on: April 25, 2013, 08:03:13 PM »