Author Topic: How do I get out of this one?  (Read 8085 times)

Offline Curt Larsen

How do I get out of this one?
« on: September 16, 2014, 06:13:22 PM »
I'm trying to rebuild a semi completed stock I found somewhere along the line.  It has barrel, lock, and breechplug tang mortises cut.  The tang is a longer one and is ca. 4" long.  it is ca. 1/2" wide at the breech and tapers to 3/8" or so.  It has a 7/8 barrel with 5/8 x 18 breech plug.  It will  be flint.  This is my first attempt at fitting a breech plug.  I used a long tapered tang plug that TOW once carried (but no longer).  It was a full 1/2" at the breech and tapered back.  To make a long story short, I shortened the journal too much and now I'm stuck without a proper replacement plug--TOW only stocks a 5/8 x 18 plug with a 7/16" width to math the flats on a 1" barrel, and it is too narrow to fill the existing mortise.  So what to do?  I can't find a BP wide enough with the proper threads.  The only thing I've found wide enough online is an unthreaded long tang from DGW.  I've thought about adding more wood along the tang mortise, but it will look like doo doo.  I've also considered using a patent breech for flint, but it will move the pan position too far forward for a new flint lock mortise.  Do any of you have ideas?  Maybe I should stick to barrels with pre fitted plugs.
Curt

Offline sz

Re: How do I get out of this one?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2014, 06:27:42 PM »

First, I would give you a bit of advice.  Stop using initials in your posts thinking that everyone can understand what you mean.
Ca?
TOW?

I am sure many do understand, but it's probable that there are people out here that can help you, who are not computer geeks and don't "speak geek"
 I am one

As far as fixing the problem I think you may be able to heat the old tang and forge it to a wider and longer shape, file it to look good and fill in the old inlet with a piece of wood.  Then inlet the new tang to cover the old repair.
:)