Author Topic: Lyman GPR sights  (Read 8740 times)

Tulle FdC Fan

Lyman GPR sights
« on: December 11, 2014, 12:41:33 AM »
Hi,

I'm new to the site, but have been reading some great advice here.

I'm new to the blackpowder and muzzleloading passion. I bought a new Lyman GPR .54 caliber flintlock, but I'm not a fan of the adjustable rear sight or the thick front blade sight. I want to replace the adjustable rear sight with the fixed, primitive sight included in the Lyman box and would like some advice on a 'not so thick' front sight. I understand that the dovetails cut into the barrel may be metric or non-standard and would appreciate if anyone could suggest a front sight that would fit without too much grief. The gun may be used for deer hunting next year, if that has any bearing on selection of an appropriate sight.

Best Regards to all,

Offline Topknot

• www.yahoo.com
Re: Lyman GPR sights
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2014, 04:00:44 AM »
Tulle,The front and rear dovetails are .360. I too didnt like the rear sights that came on my great plains rifle. They are cheaply made and had too much wobble, loose tolerances. It was also getting to where I couldnt see the sights plainly as I  used too so I ended up putting a set of the lyman great plains peep sights or more correctly aperture sights. That my friend fixed my problem and I havent looked back since. great set of sights.

topknot
TIM COMPTON, SR.

layover to catch meddlers!

Offline Pete G.

« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2014, 04:07:51 PM »
A .3/8" sight dovetail can be easily modified with a three cornered file that has the teeth ground off of one side. There are many options available on the Track of the Wolf website.

docone

« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2014, 04:15:09 PM »