Author Topic: antique bolts and screws  (Read 3298 times)

Offline whitebear

antique bolts and screws
« on: March 11, 2015, 03:54:55 AM »
I don't know if this should be here or where, if it needs to be moved please move it. but, I know that there is machinery now to make all kinds of bolte and screws to a standard size and thread pitch.  My question is did the original makers use a standard size bolt or screw that may also have been used by other makers or did they make the screw threads and make a tap to fit them.  I have never dismantled an original and have had my hand on very few so I have no knowledge on this subject.  I am thinking especially of the breechplugs.
In the beginning God...
Georgia - God's vacation spot

Offline Acer Saccharum

• Administrator
    • Thomas  A Curran
Re: antique bolts and screws
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2015, 04:18:23 AM »
Look up James Wilson Everett's posts on screw plates. Threads were 'formed' rather than cut, and you needed the tool to do it with. In the early 19th century and before, standardized threads were non-existent.
Tom Curran's web site : http://monstermachineshop.net
Ramrod scrapers are all sold out.

Offline Mark Elliott

• Mark Elliott  Artist & Craftsman
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2015, 04:25:02 AM »
Individual tool manufacturers had standards, but there were no industry standards.   You would have to buy your taps and dies or screw plates from the same manufacturer; or make your taps from your screw plate/die/swage.

Offline whitebear

« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2015, 09:42:08 PM »
Thanks that's what I thought but wasn't sure.  So if you lost or broke an internal lock screw you needed to go back to the maker or find someone with a screw that fit.  Is this correct?
In the beginning God...
Georgia - God's vacation spot

Offline jerrywh

• Jerrywh-gunmaker- Master  Engraver FEGA.
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2015, 11:41:54 PM »
 White bear.