Author Topic: Help with tools for Jim Chambers Class  (Read 3602 times)

Offline MontanaFrontier86

Help with tools for Jim Chambers Class
« on: May 06, 2015, 05:37:27 AM »
I am new to muzzleloader building. I am attending a Jim Chambers class in about a week or so. I need help with a place to pick up the tools. Here is a list. Is there a website where I can get  most of these supplies? Links to everything would really help me out too. Thanks for bearing with a newb new to building.
1. Plastic Mallet and Ball Peen Hammer, What size?
2. Surform, What size?
3. File Card?
4. Assorted Files, Small rat tail 6", 6" mill bastard? Links to these would really help because I have no idea.
5. Tap & Wrench, 8X32 two flute tap and appropriate wrench, again a link would help greatly.
6. Jewelers saw and blades
7. Parallel Clamp, need help picking one out. 6-7" size wise I beleive
8. 1/16 Punch
9. Square and Straight edge
10. Cutting Oil? Where and what kind?
11. Opti Visor?
12. Center Punch
13. Counter Sink Bit, What size and where to buy?
14. Number drill bits # 29 & #18? again no idea what that is or where to buy.

Offline Rich

Re: Help with tools for Jim Chambers Class
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2015, 08:35:16 AM »
If you're not sure what the tool is or where to get it, google the tool and you'll get a lot of information. Your local hardware store is a good start. The surform comes in all kinds of shapes and sizes. The 10 to 12 inch length and shaped like a file is what I use. Lowes sells them as do others. Track of the Wolf, Muzzleloader Builders Supply, Woodcraft are all good places to look for some of the other tools. The optivisor is a personal matter. I have one. I also bought a cheap knockoff at Harborfreight Tools that actually works better for me most of the time. The numbered drill bits are just drill bits. The numbers refer to the size. Like I said above, Google this stuff and you'll learn a lot. Have fun in the class.

Offline Cory Joe Stewart

• My etsy shop