Author Topic: Deringer barrel finish  (Read 4991 times)

Offline L. Akers

Deringer barrel finish
« on: November 15, 2015, 05:23:30 PM »
Hello folks, I'm new to this forum thing but I've been a hobby gun builder for 50 years with 30-some builds under my belt.

In the book [iSteel Canvas [ a Deringer pistol is shown with their "special streaked finish" on the barrel.  The finish is a brown with red-orange streaks that look like paint was drizzled on the barrel as it was rotated.  I have seen one for real at the Fraizer Historical Museum in Louisvile, Ky.--it's not paint.  Any one know how they accomplished that finish?

Offline Mike Brooks

• Mike Brooks Gunmaker
Re: Deringer barrel finish
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2015, 05:29:09 PM »
It's an alloy forged into the barrel  during manufacture.
NEW WEBSITE! www.mikebrooksflintlocks.com
Say, any of you boys smithies? Or, if not smithies per se, were you otherwise trained in the metallurgic arts before straitened circumstances forced you into a life of aimless wanderin'?

Offline L. Akers

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2015, 04:52:31 AM »
Thanks Mike.  That was my first thought but something I read somewhere gave me the impression it was done artificially to simulate a welded barrel.  Anyway, I thought that if I could do it myself it would look good on a target pistol.

Larry

Offline JCKelly

« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2015, 06:01:37 AM »
With respect, that "red orange" is copper plate. Nothing is forged into the wrought iron used by Mr. D. for his pistol barrels. They were indeed wrought iron, and not steel.

Details are in someone's book somewhere, but it involves copper plating. This does not have to be electroplating. I think the "browning" solution Mr. D. used would have been acidic, with some copper sulfate in it.

Decades ago Dad bought Mom had a matched pair of Deringers with that beautiful finish on them. No, I never got ahold of them.