Author Topic: Question about forend caps on half-stock rifles......  (Read 7431 times)

Offline GANGGREEN

Question about forend caps on half-stock rifles......
« on: November 20, 2015, 10:55:30 PM »
OK, by way of full-disclosure, I'm building this for my son, who's coming home on Thanksgiving break from college in a few days and I'm trying to have it ready so I can give it to him for his 20th birthday.  I had really wanted to pour a pewter forend cap, but I've never done it before, not to mention that time is a concern so I did it as  you see it with the knowledge that I can always go back later and add a horn, pewter or brass cap. 

Anyway, I'm not really asking what was historically correct because there weren't a ton of flintlock half-stocks anyway and I'd presume most of them had poured caps.  What I'm asking is for opinions about the forend with no cap at all.  Does it look OK?  Does it look horrid?  How would you treat the forend on this rifle if it was your build?  (and for what it's worth, I'll be adding a steel under-rib and pipes soon, I don't consider it "finished" yet).

Thanks in advance.

thimble rig

Re: Question about forend caps on half-stock rifles......
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2015, 11:28:22 PM »
For a fantasy rifle it looks ok to me.i think it would look good with a wooden under rib.The cap I don't know if the pewter would  look right with the brass furniture or not.Whad did you finish youre stock with I like it.

Offline GANGGREEN

« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2015, 11:37:09 PM »
For a fantasy rifle it looks ok to me.i think it would look good with a wooden under rib.The cap I don't know if the pewter would  look right with the brass furniture or not.Whad did you finish youre stock with I like it.

Thanks Thimble Rig.  I seriously considered a wooden under-rib but decided to go with the metal rib at the last minute.  I stained the rifle with LMF nut brown and used two coats of Permalyn on top.

Offline Cory Joe Stewart

• My etsy shop