Author Topic: slotting of under lugs  (Read 4136 times)

Offline hortonstn

slotting of under lugs
« on: February 21, 2017, 09:20:36 PM »
how long of a slot does an underlug for a swamped barrel need to be?

Offline hanshi

• My passion is longrifles!
    • martialartsusa.com
Re: slotting of under lugs
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2017, 09:40:56 PM »
I'm no expert; but it shouldn't have to be much.  I use a "wire saw" and just get them oval.  Most of mine already came nicely slotted.
!Jozai Senjo! "always present on the battlefield"
Young guys should hang out with old guys; old guys know stuff.

g2608671@verizon.net

« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2017, 09:55:22 PM »
Why does the underlug on a swamped barrel need to be slotted?  Excuse my ignorance, but I am about to embark on building a rifle with a swamped barrel and I know just enough about the process to be a danger to myself.
I know that on the last Traditions I put together that had I slotted the underlugs (fore and aft) I would have gotten a better fit where the stock joins in front of the trigger guard.  They would have drawn up tighter.

Offline EC121

« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2017, 10:10:14 PM »
It allows for the barrel to expand and contract without binding while shooting.  Also the wood can move without pulling on the barrel.
Brice Stultz

Offline hortonstn

« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2017, 12:52:28 AM »
i read a post on another sight by a well known barrel maker that compared it to a snake swallowing eggs.
if thats what i need for accuracy im in its about barrel harmonics..
thanks
paul

Offline Mark Elliott

• Mark Elliott  Artist & Craftsman
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2017, 02:21:03 AM »