Author Topic: Lock positioning  (Read 4557 times)

Uncle Alvah

Lock positioning
« on: September 28, 2017, 05:55:58 AM »
I have been reading some on lock positioning. Seems to me, perhaps because this is my first build, that the positioning of the lock is pretty well fixed. The touch hole is just forward of the breech plug. The pan is centered below the touch hole, and the pan connects to the lock plate. everything seems kind prepositioned to me. Yes?/No?

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: Lock positioning
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2017, 06:02:41 AM »
Well, on a longrifle a few degrees here and there seem to matter.  Let's pivot the lock around the axis of the touchole. The forward lock bolt in the nose of the lock must pass below the barrel but above the ramrod hole.  Yet within that narrow web there is a range that will determine the angle of the lock and where the tail of the lock rests.

Now if you are working with a precarved stock, then you are constrained.  But if a blank, you can not only position the tail of the lock where you want it on the wrist, you can place the wrist where you want it on the lock tail.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2017, 03:21:09 PM by rich pierce »
Andover, Vermont

Offline WKevinD

« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2017, 06:03:21 AM »
Don't forget the location of the web of wood where the front lock bolt runs thru below the barrel and above the ramrod channel, that will set the angle of the lock.
Kevin
PEACE is that glorious moment in history when everyone stands around reloading.  Thomas Jefferson

Offline Scota4570

« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2017, 07:26:30 AM »
I've been head scratching on this one too.  It also seems that one need to use a lock that matches the breech diameter.  A lock with a step down to the pan would work with a fat barrel.  No step down then a thinner barrel? 

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2017, 03:25:22 PM »
What is a step down to the pan?